what are Level 1 and Level 2 qualifications?

Posted on: 16 May 2014

Level 1 Qualifications

If the highest qualification that you hold is listed below, you are entitled to a fee concession:

  • 5 GCSEs at grades D-G
  • fewer than 5 GCSEs at grades A-C
  • CSEs below grade 1
  • NVQ Level 1

Level 2 Qualifications

If you hold qualifications at the level below or above, you are not entitled to a concession, examples include:

  • 5 or more GCSEs/O levels at grades A-C
  • 5 or more CSEs (or more) at grade 1
  • 2 or more AS Levels or above
  • A Levels
  • NVQ Level 2 or higher
  • HNC, HND, First Degree or higher

If you are unsure of your qualification level, please contact us.

You can get more information from the National Careers Service.